Poll Results – The most promising rider

To promote and nurture young talent, HASTPA conducted a contest for the most promising rider at the 4th edition of UT MTB Shimla. The official race body at HASTPA nominated 7 young riders on the basis of their past performance, participation, experience and ranking. The rider with the maximum votes on website and likes on Facebook will earn a cash prize of Rs.15,000 and MTB Himalaya merchandise. After a week long voting by fans & followers from the cycling community, a total of 1034 website votes &  1202 facebook likes were received and a close competition was observed between Rohan Kukreja & Akshit Gaur.

After detailed review of the poll, we are pleased  to announce Rohan Kukreja as  the Most Promising Rider of 4th UT MTB Shimla 2015. Rohan received  a total website votes from 277 voters & 14 likes from facebook post. He wins a cash prize of Rs 15,000 for being the most promising rider of 4th edition of India’s premier & most challenging weekend cross country mountain biking race.
Poll Result - 4th UT MTB Shimla 2015

The Nominated Riders for the poll were – 

  1. Devender Thakur ( 21 years old) has raced the 4th UT MTB Shimla to be declared as the Overall and the Open Solo Men’s category winner. With his experience and power-packed performance since 2013, he has remained undefeated and has won laurels in different MTB races all across India.
  1. Shiven (17 years old) is a top class rider and his achievements include winning the Overall Under 19 title in the MTB National Championships 2015, 2nd position in the Trails & Dusts, Manali and is a regular at decathlon races. Shiven is a podium fighter at National races and has been a part of MTB Shimla since its 2nd edition.


  1. Sandeep Madaan (22 year old) is one of the most exciting young riders, having won the overall 2nd position at the 4th UT MTB Shimla 2015. He was also the Runners up in the Open Men Solo category. Madaan has participated thrice in the Chandigarh State Championship and won the Silver medal in 2013, was a tough contender 10th MTB Nationals 2013. He was titled “Randonneurs” in Jan 2015 after completing 217 kms ride in less than 10 hours.


  1. Punay Pratap Singh (20 years old) proved to be one of the toughest contenders in the 4th UT MTB Shimla securing the 5th position overall and just missing the podium but finishing strongly on the 4th position in the Open Men Solo Category in the gruelling race. From winning the Firestorm MTB 2015 to winning the 3rd position at Delhi Gran Fondo Part 1 (road time trial) and the 2nd positionDelhi Gran Fondo part 2 , he has been enjoying every moment of riding his passion.


  1. Gaurish Shyam (14 years old) exploded into the 4th UT MTB Shimla 2015 by giving a tough fight to all the other competitors. Since his induction to the sport, he has been an impressive rider. He secured the 2nd position in the Students category at UT MTB Shimla 2015 and an Overall 7th position amongst the Top 10 which is a feat to achieve at such a young age.


  1. Rohan Kukreja (16 years old) claimed the 3rd position in the Students category in the 4th UT MTB Shimla 2015. This was the first time he participated in the race and proved to be a promising rider. He has been riding regularly since the last three years and has mastered his techniques.
  1. Akshit Gaur (15 years old) has one of the most impressive profiles of the upcoming group of young riders. He has secured the overall 13th position and 5th position in the Students category with an outstanding performance at the 4th UT MTB Shimla 2015.

Voting for the 7 riders was open from 11th May to 17th May on the official HASTPA website – www.hastpa.org/poll. Each participant’s profile was uploaded on Facebook as well. The overall votes were the total votes from website poll (70% weightage) and Facebook likes (30% weightage) to declare the results. A total of 1034 votes were cast for the young riders.

Below graphs shows the detailed split of vote that each nominee received.

Poll Result

Note : For any information or clearance regarding the poll, please feel free to write to us at info@hastpa.org. The winner shall  be communicated via email on how to redeem the prize money.




Leave A Comment

Contact Info


HASTPA (Himalayan Adventure & Tourism Promotion Association)

Phone:    0091 177 2659797
Email:     mtbhimalaya@hastpa.org
Address: A5, MC Parking, Cart Road, Shimla, HP 171001, INDIA


Let our race updates hit your inbox.
* = required field